It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:07 am

All times are UTC

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

Post subject: this forum has more views than answers
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 8:12 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Wonder why this forum has more people viewing questions rather than ones trying to answer them. I know not everyone is an expert and don't have answers. Maybe subjects don't intrest people but they look at the questions/answers anyway.

Some examples follow you can see currently in the forum:

Changed the Look got 662 views. Replies were 3
Different browsers got 73 views. Replies were 3
Help getting form to work got 349 views. Replies were 1

That's as of 8-25-07 when I was there.

How can so many viewers have no answers? Maybe there're curioustiy seekers. Maybe there're lazy and don't care. If so, why read any of it?Maybe people are waiting for others to reply. I'm no expert and can't answer all of them either but when someone gets 662 views and gets 3 replies what would you think? How about 73 views and 3 reply.?

Believe this forum can be a good thing and has helped me in the past. But lately people seem to look more than help others.

This message is meant to be polite and not get people mad.
Robinston

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2007 8:04 am 
Noobie
Noobie

At least the forums are being viewed. I belong to some other hobby related groups and out of about 500 members, only about 20 are active in either the hobby or the forums. Some are active in both but most just couldn't be bothered to take part in online events.

It seems to be a global problem. My question is similar to yours, robinston: These things are called online communities. My understanding of a community is that it supplies a platform for human interaction. If you're not going to interact, then why join a community?