It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 6:23 pm


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Html site / no tables!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 4:12 am 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 1:01 am
Posts: 23
It CAN be done, but how? Its an interesting new design style for websites. You no longer have to use tables, and its much better for load times! Its better for load times because it cuts down on its size! Saving you bandwidth!

Now how could we do this? I know it has to do with the <div> tags, but I'm not sure how to use them with css that well. If anyone knows, could they do my site in CSS?

( http://dbm.allhyper.com )

All I need is the index.html file done, I can convert the rest myself. Even a tuorial on how to do it would really be good enough. I'm fairly well experinced and learn quickly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 5:05 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 11:33 pm
Posts: 40
what?! that's insane, i never knew that you could do that :shock: ...i guess i should start keeping up to date with css :wink: .

_________________
my site: cookaylabs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 5:42 pm 
Posts like crazy!
Posts like crazy!

Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 5:03 pm
Posts: 204
Location: The Netherlands
There are people who still use tables? =o I always used CSS...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2006 7:17 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 11:33 pm
Posts: 40
i know...and that's definately something i should add :wink: ...

_________________
my site: cookaylabs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:26 am 
When designing my pages, I use tables, for my new site I will try to use DIV and CSS :)


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:33 am 
Im gonna look into DIV layouts soon I hope :)


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:06 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 1:01 am
Posts: 23
Thanks, I couldn't remember when I posted this lol! :lol:

I'll try to google it right now...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: use layers
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:41 am 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:25 am
Posts: 2
why not use layers??? just use dreameweaver and switch to layout mode


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: use layers
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 7:43 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 5:36 pm
Posts: 17
shbadaoui wrote:
why not use layers??? just use dreameweaver and switch to layout mode

Layers are just the name that dreamweaver gives to the divs anyway. If you look at the code it generates, that's what you'll find out. - The problem with DW is that it makes use only of the 'absolute' type of positionning and you miss on the relative and, more importantly, FLOAT positionning that is so usefull.

Plus it actually has no use for CASCADING in Cascading Style Sheet (CSS). Instead, it creates inline styles or random id's for every tag in your code. That defies the point of using CSS at all. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ]  Moderators: fhmagic, KJ, Moderators, Support Team

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
100WebSpace © 2011