It is currently Sun Aug 25, 2019 4:41 am


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Why dont all of my links work please???
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:55 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 8
Hello, I have created a site and not all of my links are working? My website copy that lies on my desktop works perfectly but when I upload, some of my links start to redirect to the log-in screen - please help me!

The address is: http://paulew.allhyper.com/

If you look, the Resume button doesnt work, nor does my contributions button work. However other buttons do???? What's going on? How do i fix this?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 3:02 pm 
file names ARE case sensitive so abc.htm is NOT ABC.htm, they may work on your computer because the filenames are NOT case sensitive but on 100webspace's serveres they are :D


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 3:48 pm 
I have no life!
I have no life!

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:12 pm
Posts: 1504
Location: My Office
Greetings,

That is a very nice over lip thing there on your index page. :D Would you mind sharing that code with us, as I rather not spend 2 - 3 hours coding it, and then another 3 hours modifying it into a phpBB MOD / HACK that I am working on for my new site, and also for a MOD here. :D

Please and thanks. If not, I will just find out the hard way. :wink: :wink: :D

_________________
Best Regards:
Aaron McGowan (aka: CyberGeek, =cipher=)

CyberGeek's Software Solutions
-- WWW: http://www.cybergeeksoftware.com
-- Tech Line: 1-519-860-4557
-- Email: cybergeek@cybergeeksoftware.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 3:52 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 8
Hello
Sure I dont mind telling you my secrets - but Im not sure which bit you mean? Are you talking about the scrolling bar on the bottom of my page? What do you mean by an over lip? I


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 4:03 pm 
I have no life!
I have no life!

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:12 pm
Posts: 1504
Location: My Office
Greetings,

What I mean is on your right navigation bar, how when you put your mouse over with the MouseOver tag or w/e how do you get or actually what is the code to get it to have a little popup window in the center?

And the scrolling text is just the marquee function :) Im a programmer, but I dont want to spend so much time programming the littlest and I mean one of the littlest features for the new site ... :D and MODs :D

_________________
Best Regards:
Aaron McGowan (aka: CyberGeek, =cipher=)

CyberGeek's Software Solutions
-- WWW: http://www.cybergeeksoftware.com
-- Tech Line: 1-519-860-4557
-- Email: cybergeek@cybergeeksoftware.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 4:34 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 8
Im not sure you want to hear this but here goes...

The whole navigation bar (and my photo and the mouse over feature where the boxes with descriptions come up) is all one Macromedia Flash file.

I tried using only HTML to create a website but it looked quite poor.
Im honestly not sure if there is a way of HTML-ing this, perhaps using javascript you may be able to get a similar outcome.

I think you should try out Macromedia Flash, I think you would like it. I created the navigational menu by Flash, saved it as a FLA file, then I published it with the same program which created a SWF file in the same directory. This is the file that I inserted onto my index page and saved it.

Tell me if this helps, I will be happy to answer questions.

Paul.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 4:42 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:50 pm
Posts: 8
By the way do you have an existing live website? I would be interested in having a quick peek...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 4:46 pm 
Cipher has a website at http://www.thetechbase.com/ and I have a site at http://www.rm249.com/


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 5:26 pm 
I have no life!
I have no life!

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:12 pm
Posts: 1504
Location: My Office
Actually, I have several.

But my only Live ones for public viewing at the moment at:
- www.thetechbase.com
- www.exbb-phpbb.com
- www.exbb-phpbb.com/phpBB2/

All my other ones are subdomains that you must have access with a specific IP address to gain access to it as I am developing a new website for The Tech Base, and also currently creating / programming a portal / simple cms for phpBB.

The Tech Base :: Pc, Programming and Web Development Support with a lot more things like services, downloads, etc.

exBB Portal-Mix & MODs :: phpBB support website for MODs, styles, and general issues. Also a support and home of exBB Portal-Mix (currently being developed) and customized phpBB MODs programmed by the exBB Group. :D

_________________
Best Regards:
Aaron McGowan (aka: CyberGeek, =cipher=)

CyberGeek's Software Solutions
-- WWW: http://www.cybergeeksoftware.com
-- Tech Line: 1-519-860-4557
-- Email: cybergeek@cybergeeksoftware.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ]  Moderators: fhmagic, KJ, Moderators, Support Team

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
100WebSpace © 2011