It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 7:59 pm


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: problem installing IPB v.2.0.3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 8:55 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:06 am
Posts: 29
Location: Vancity, BC, Canada
hey I was just trying to install an IPB board and I have uploaded all the files, CHMODed whatever I need to, and point my browser to the install folders so I can start the install, but it doesn't work. I can't see the page (it returns your average 404 Error - cannot find server).

I am on the free account, with 2 subdomains total (out of my 3). I have a phpBB board installed on my other subdomain and it works fine, no trouble at all.

any help would be greatly appreciated...

_________________
Vancity-Vibes - Da Illest Music in Vancity
Vancity-Vibes Forum


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 1:24 am 
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:38 pm
Posts: 850
Location: in a tent outside..
Please PM Me .. Ill be gald to help you

_________________
Best Regards,
Josh Hubi
100Webspace Team Member


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 7:04 am 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:06 am
Posts: 29
Location: Vancity, BC, Canada
Hubi, I'm not so sure you need to actually do it for me. I was wondering if maybe you could just tell me what happens....An error keeps coming up. I have installed boards before, so it's not actually that I don't know how.

If you are willing to help, please reply and maybe then I could add you to MSN and we could talk it out online? Thanks very much! :D

_________________
Vancity-Vibes - Da Illest Music in Vancity
Vancity-Vibes Forum


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 8:39 am 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:06 am
Posts: 29
Location: Vancity, BC, Canada
OK, since there is an "edit post" limit (stupidest thing ever) I have to double post.
[img=http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/1200/cantconnect7du.png]

^^ there is what it says. it's odd though, because the database fully exists! and I have made sure to put in all the correct details.

the database isn't one of 100webspace's though, does that matter? Can I use external databases?

thanks again... and sorry for the double post. you guys should really get rid of the "edit post" limit. I mean who needs a time limit on editing posts? if anything it just causes a pain to the user and makes ur board filled with ugly double posts... (just my opinion)

_________________
Vancity-Vibes - Da Illest Music in Vancity
Vancity-Vibes Forum


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 8:41 am 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:06 am
Posts: 29
Location: Vancity, BC, Canada
sorry i guess there really is no edit button...can somebody please explain that? it's really handy (as I have clearly proved in my lack of proofreading!!!!)

i messed up on the link above here it is:

Image

_________________
Vancity-Vibes - Da Illest Music in Vancity
Vancity-Vibes Forum


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:19 pm 
what server are you on, if you put localhost, it will not connect, try putting your server.... farvista.net, webpal.info, freeprohost.com, etc...


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 5:10 am 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:06 am
Posts: 29
Location: Vancity, BC, Canada
i think i fixed it. thanks anyways....please leave this topic open if I need to come back if it wasn't fixed.

thanks

_________________
Vancity-Vibes - Da Illest Music in Vancity
Vancity-Vibes Forum


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 4:04 pm 
no problem :D


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 6:07 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2005 7:15 pm
Posts: 13
Any Idea How t fix my problem? i get this when i try and access my site:- http://geforums.tollfreepage.com/


any help? (its an IPB board i tried installing)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 12:14 am 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:06 am
Posts: 29
Location: Vancity, BC, Canada
hmmmmmmm......have you tried doing exactly what it says? :shock: because that would be the obvious thing to do.

to my knowledge, with Zend Optimizer, its like a special decrypting/unzipping prog/app that needs to be used for some IPB boards.

lemme guess - you didn't buy the IPB did you? (I don't care whatsoever) but it might have been included or tell you what to do if you did.

if you did buy their boards for real, then try asking on their support forums, they'd be happy to help.

_________________
Vancity-Vibes - Da Illest Music in Vancity
Vancity-Vibes Forum


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ]  Moderators: fhmagic, KJ, Moderators, Support Team

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
100WebSpace © 2011