It is currently Wed Nov 25, 2020 7:04 pm


All times are UTC


Forum rules


Please click here to view the forum rules



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: UNB forum install
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:58 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:39 pm
Posts: 6
Hi !

I'm trying to install Unclassified news board , and of course^^ i just can't manage to do that by myself :oops:
(i get "UNB Error: Cannot connect to database"

I don't really know what to put for database name...(i want to put it in a "forum" folder at the root of the parent directory )

also, just to be sure : in the server case , i should just put "server.com" right ?

hope someone can help me :)

ps: sorry for my bad english.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2005 10:56 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 7:43 am
Posts: 1818
Location: 100WebSpace's Headquarters
The database name is the one that you see in the Manage SQL Databases section of your control panel. The server must be server.com where server.com is the name of the server were your account is placed on. You can see that in the Manage SQL Databases section too.

_________________
Read the F.A.Q. before asking a question!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 12:40 am 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:39 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks for helping me out ! :wink:

still i can't make it to work...i go to the sql database section of the control panel and the only thing i see is "username_" which give me the same rsults :s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 1:32 am 
I have no life!
I have no life!

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:12 pm
Posts: 1504
Location: My Office
Greetings,

Ok. Your database name ... and database username are the exact same. Also, make sure you use the proper password. :D Did you make the database

_________________
Best Regards:
Aaron McGowan (aka: CyberGeek, =cipher=)

CyberGeek's Software Solutions
-- WWW: http://www.cybergeeksoftware.com
-- Tech Line: 1-519-860-4557
-- Email: cybergeek@cybergeeksoftware.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 1:33 am 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 7:43 am
Posts: 1818
Location: 100WebSpace's Headquarters
Yu are supposed to create a database in the Manage SQL Database and use the username and the password of the database created.

_________________
Read the F.A.Q. before asking a question!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 1:43 pm 
NO! I'm not a flooder!
NO! I'm not a flooder!

Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 9:08 pm
Posts: 150
Location: St.Helens
Have you got a website address for this forum ur installing incase it needs more than php and html ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 2:10 pm 
I have no life!
I have no life!

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:12 pm
Posts: 1504
Location: My Office
Make sure you have created the database in your control panel. :D

_________________
Best Regards:
Aaron McGowan (aka: CyberGeek, =cipher=)

CyberGeek's Software Solutions
-- WWW: http://www.cybergeeksoftware.com
-- Tech Line: 1-519-860-4557
-- Email: cybergeek@cybergeeksoftware.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 6:51 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:39 pm
Posts: 6
ok now i don't feel like a complete noob :x

lol i just read why i couldn't see anything in my cp ! ; now that the menu is in french and complete i'm starting to understand a bit better what i must do :o
thanks for your help , i know see that i wasn't doing it right.

i'm gonna go look at the nice tutorials instead of "running into the fog" :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2005 10:38 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:39 pm
Posts: 6
just wanted to say thank you guys for the help :D (also decided to go with phpfusion instead)

http://netsub.farvista.net

now time to add the interesting stuff :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2005 10:47 pm 
No problem :D we are always here to help :D


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 1:58 pm 
I have no life!
I have no life!

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:12 pm
Posts: 1504
Location: My Office
Greetings,

I like how the phpFusion is sort of set up... A bit ... I give the software 2/10 . :D But ... I bet you could do something really good with it. :D

_________________
Best Regards:
Aaron McGowan (aka: CyberGeek, =cipher=)

CyberGeek's Software Solutions
-- WWW: http://www.cybergeeksoftware.com
-- Tech Line: 1-519-860-4557
-- Email: cybergeek@cybergeeksoftware.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 1:59 pm 
I have no life!
I have no life!

Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 6:12 pm
Posts: 1504
Location: My Office
Hehe...

The only reason I gave it a 2/10 was because I dislike all default stuff ... You can ask some members here (rm249, oliver, etc) that I customize my phpBB Files ... with my own editing ... :) I like to really mess around with other peoples software. :D :lol:

_________________
Best Regards:
Aaron McGowan (aka: CyberGeek, =cipher=)

CyberGeek's Software Solutions
-- WWW: http://www.cybergeeksoftware.com
-- Tech Line: 1-519-860-4557
-- Email: cybergeek@cybergeeksoftware.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:43 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:39 pm
Posts: 6
lol !

ah thanks... :? i know everything on the site is still set to default configuration, so i'm gonna work on it :o (for now i just looked at how the cp admin works, since it's my first time that i do this :oops: )

i know it's a bit off-topic but how long does the server usually takes to be up again ?
http://farvista.net/members/ is down right now :( )


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:47 pm 
Currently I can get to farvista.net/members :D


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 6:18 pm 
Noobie
Noobie

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:39 pm
Posts: 6
rm249 wrote:
Currently I can get to farvista.net/members :D

:(

no , it doesn't work for me...i also tried several times this afternoon but always get:" website could not be found"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 6:34 pm 
Now I can't access farvista.net :(


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Moderators: KJ, fhmagic, Moderators, Support Team

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
100WebSpace © 2011